Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

In which I finally join the microblogging fad

with 4 comments

If you look over at the sidebar, you will see some additional cruft under the heading of “Microblog”. I never quite saw the appeal of Twitter, especially given its tendency to excessive downtime, and its apparent difficulty in providing correct links to posts. Plus, it’s not open source, and I get touchy about who owns my data.

Enter Identi.ca. It is, indeed, an open source Twitter (the software is Laconi.ca), and it has no problem with you controlling your own data (though anything you post is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license — with which I have no problem). And if ever I don’t like how Identi.ca works, I can install Laconi.ca on my own server, port my data over, and run my microblog my own darn self. Plus, it lets you cross-post to Twitter automatically, so you can establish a double presence with little effort, and be seen by a wider audience.

And now, I am consolidating my online identity further, with the help of a modified Twitter Tools plugin. Even if I don’t blog for days, I should be able to post some pseudo-tweets, which will now be turned into a blog post on a daily basis, as well as turn up in the sidebar.

So even if I don’t feel like writing, there should be signs of life around here, almost every day. Yay.

Written by [IMH]

28 March 2009 at 12:49 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I shall remain the last firm holdout against tweeting. The closest I come is status updates on Facebook.

    Nathan

    31 March 2009 at 1:37 pm

  2. Whereas I seem to be allergic to Facebook. I’ve got a profile, but I can’t make myself log in more than two or three times over a span of months. Yet microblogging is coming easily.

    But, as in so much else, I’m just weird.

    Ian Michael Hamet

    31 March 2009 at 7:52 pm

  3. Looks very similar to Twitter, although I agree it’s better to be open-source. This article gives a good round up of microblogging in general:
    http://www.zeta.net/blog/2009/04/why-microblogging-could-be-the-next-email/

    Sam

    14 April 2009 at 3:06 am

  4. Looks very similar to Twitter, although I agree it’s better to be open-source. This article gives a good round up of microblogging in general:
    http://www.zeta.net/blog/2009/04/why-microblogging-could-be-the-next-email/

    Sam

    14 April 2009 at 3:06 am


Leave a Reply

