Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

The Spook-a-Thon that just won’t die!

leave a comment »

Yeah, I’m something like two weeks behind on the Spook-a-Thon. I’m not quitting, though. I’ve just had to deal with some personal stuff, which was, as per usual, emotionally draining.

I think I’m going to take some time on at least one of the posts. I intend on re-watching and re-reviewing Night of the Living Dead, using the Objectivist aesthetic theory as a lens, possibly shedding light on the movie itself (though, considering how much has been written on this one, probably nothing new), but also on horror as a genre, and the aesthetic theory as well, which I have publicly had some problems with.

In all, there will be 33 reviews in this year’s Spook-a-Thon (if not a few more), come hell or high water. The marathon is simply going to bleed well into November, after which I will not try to do a movie every single day ever again. I’ll probably restrict myself to three movie reviews a week, but I haven’t made a decision on that, yet. While I love watching as many movies as possible, the writing part is tough, especially at a one-per-day rate. And, as you no doubt have noticed, I like to go in-depth, which rather increases both the time and the energy invested in a particular post. The few short posts have been almost entirely unsatisfactory to me.

Here are the movies I have actually watched, and not reviewed, at this point:

  • The Alpha Incident
  • Atom Age Vampire
  • The Bat
  • Don’t Look In The Basement
  • Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
  • Kung Fu From Beyond The Grave
  • Return of the Living Dead
  • White Zombie

And I have at least one I know for sure I’m going to watch and review:

  • Trauma

Which would be my first Italian giallo film. It looks interesting and trashy, but I know for sure it has nudity, and not just a flash either.

Which leaves four more slots to fill. We’ll see if I can wrap this up in another week and a half or not.

Anyway, once the horror movies are wrapped up, I’ll probably do a singing cowboy movie or three ((OK, at least three, because I should do one each of Gene Autry, Roy Rogers, and Tex Ritter; but possibly not all in a row. )), and go back to my occasional run at spaghetti westerns.

Written by [IMH]

2 November 2008 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

