Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Spook-A-Thon 2008!

leave a comment »

I’m doing another spook-a-thon (last year’s still exists, but I still need to re-load the posts into the database, as they post-dated the backup from which I restored the blog), and I’m almost certainly biting off more than I can chew.

The goal is a movie a day, including weekends. Now, considering that I’ve not even been making a movie a day only on weekdays, that seems a tall order, but there have been extenuating circumstances, and the fact that I like to write at length, not just pop off a measly 400 words. However, no 3,000 word exegeses for the next month, I’m going to try to keep things to 800 words or less, and not worry about covering every aspect, nor even every aspect that interests me, of any particular movie.

I’m starting out with a string of Poverty Row cheapies featuring various recognizable faces, as with today’s Lugosi vehicle. Most of the movies I’m doing, at least in the first two weeks or so, will hail from Mill Creek’s sets, and I’m saving up genuinely good movies for closer to Halloween. (Night of the Living Dead, for example, is on my list, mostly because I haven’t watched it in a few years and need to revisit it.) I might also work my way through my Invisible Man Legacy Collection set, but haven’t decided on that yet — I’ve watched all the movies on it but one in any event.

So that’s the plan for the moment. We’ll have to wait and see how it pans out.

Written by [IMH]

29 September 2008 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

