Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Annoyance

with 2 comments

I upgraded to Xubuntu 8.04 a week ago, and things have gone pretty well so far. Firefox 3 Beta 5, for instance, is muuuuuuuch nicer in a low-RAM environment than its predecessor.

How. Ever.

On a lark, I popped in a copy-protected DVD, just to see if the upgrade jogged whatever was wrong before loose, and let me watch it. (I’ve had all the proper codecs installed for some time, but protected discs have never played, and I can’t figure the problem.) I pulled out Sam Fuller’s House of Bamboo because I’d never seen it, Fuller is always interesting, it stars the mighty Robert Stack, and it’s part of Fox’s Film Noir series of discs — meaning if it worked, even once, I’d have a fine old time.

And it did.

I watched the first half or so of the movie, then went to bed.

Next day, not a single damn copy-protected disc will play. Again.

And I did nothing in between (except uninstall Celestia, which I’ve never used, because it’s too demanding of my old hardware — and nothing related to Celestia is related to DVD encodings).

So now I’m stuck with unprotected discs on my computer again. Watched Killers from Space (1954, Peter Graves, “aliens” with ping pong ball eyes; it was pretty entertaining) instead of finishing House of Bamboo.

And once again, I’m restricted to my Mill Creek Entertainment 50 Movie Mega Packs, and Playboy discs. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that!)

UPDATE: Typo corrected, links added.

Written by [IMH]

10 May 2008 at 3:49 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Celestia is an application for real-time 3D visualization of space, with a detailed model of the solar system, over 100,000 stars, more than 10,000 galaxies, and an extension mechanism for adding more objects.”

    Wow, you really are a space geek. But it’s more wonderful to go stargazing outside on a beautiful night than on the computer.

    Do my sex videos still play? 😀

    Herself

    10 May 2008 at 11:52 pm

  2. Yes, I am. And yes, it is (but it’s also nice to know distances and such).

    And yes, oh boy yes, they do. 😀

    Ian

    11 May 2008 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

