Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Yay!

with one comment

Did a standard software update this morning, because Xubuntu said I should. Upgraded Firefox, the Ubuntu-approved Flash plugin (which wasn’t working), and the Linux kernel (plus something else kernel-related).

And, wonder of wonders, Flash now works. I can watch YouTube videos again! (Not well, the machine has too little memory to play them smoothly, but that ain’t the point.)

Now if I could only get the thing to play copy-protected DVDs. I can play my Mill Creek Entertainment 50 Movie Mega Packs (and my few Playboy discs) just fine, so that’s what I’ve been doing. But even with all the supposedly correct libraries, the protected ones refuse to play.

Then again, I haven’t tested them since the update…

Written by [IMH]

9 February 2008 at 3:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ian,
    I’m thinking of installing linux on my laptop. Do you have any recommendations for how to get started?

    -Jason

    Jason

    13 February 2008 at 1:41 pm


Leave a Reply

