Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Quote of the moment

leave a comment »

“I’m a private detective.”

“Oh?” said Kate in surprise, and then looked puzzled.

“Does that bother you?”

“It’s just that I have a friend who plays the double bass.”

“I see,” said Dirk.

“Whenever people meet him and he’s struggling around with it, they all say the same thing, and it drives him crazy. They all say, ‘I bet you wished you played the piccolo.’ Nobody ever works out that that’s what everybody else says. I was just trying to work out if there was something that everybody would always say to a private detective so that I could avoid saying it.”

“No. What happens is that everybody looks very shifty for a moment, and you got that very well.”

“I see.” Kate looked disappointed.

— Douglas Adams, The Long Dark Tea-Time Of The Soul

Written by [IMH]

17 January 2008 at 10:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

