Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Quote of the day

leave a comment »

All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go,
I’m standing here outside your door
I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
But the dawn is breaking, its early morn,
The taxi’s waiting, he’s blowin’ his horn
Already I’m so lonesome I could die

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me,
Hold me like you’ll never let me go.
Cause I’m leaving on a jet plane,
Don’t know when I’ll be back again,
Oh babe, I hate to go.

The Mamas and The Papas John Denver, “Leaving On A Jet Plane”

Written by [IMH]

21 May 2007 at 12:01 am

Posted in Quotes

No Responses Yet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are you going somewhere?

    Herself

    21 May 2007 at 4:37 am

  2. No, I just like the way the lyrics capture the feeling of longing. Been feeling a bit of that myself lately. Plus, they more or less express how I felt toward the end of January.

    Ian

    21 May 2007 at 5:41 am

  3. The song was actually written by John Denver. I hate to be a stickler but the guy wrote only one good song in a long career, he deserves the credit.

    jk

    21 May 2007 at 11:36 am

  4. Fixed. Durn it, knew he sang the thing, but my web research indicated it was composed by the Mamas and Papas.

    And I will stipulate that this is by far his best, but “Country Boy” is fun, and Whisper of the Heart gave me a real appreciation for “Country Roads”.

    Ian

    21 May 2007 at 3:33 pm


Leave a Reply

