Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Quote of the day

with 3 comments

The grammar has a rule absurd
Which I would call an outworn myth—
“A preposition is a word
You mustn’t end a sentence with!”

That rule I very often flout
Because it makes me far from calm.
It’s one I do not care about.
I wonder where they get it from!

I’ll make a preposition do
The thing I want to use it for.
Why should that be objected to?
There’s nothing in it to abhor.

For since my school-days first commenced
It is a practice which I’ve found
No reason to protest against
Amid the folks I’ve been around.

And though to purists it’s a sin
And one that’s largely frowned upon,
It’s one that I’ve persisted in
Whatever spot I’m dwelling on.

For if to any sentence pat
A preposition adds more pith,
And aids what I am driving at,
Why, that is what I’ll end it with!

— Berton Braley, “No Rule To Be Afraid Of”

Written by [IMH]

9 May 2007 at 12:01 am

Posted in Quotes

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. An Oklahoma oil man goes into the Colby Hotel in Boston and asks the Maitre’D “Where’s the bar at?”

    He winces and explains “Sir, in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and most certainly in the Municipality of Boston, and most definitely in the Colby Hotel, we do not end a sentence with a preposition!”

    The Okie thinks about it, nods contritely and says “Okay, where’s the bar at, Asshole?”

    jk

    16 May 2007 at 3:02 pm

  2. An Oklahoma oil man goes into the Colby Hotel in Boston and asks the Maitre’D “Where’s the bar at?”

    He winces and explains “Sir, in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and most certainly in the Municipality of Boston, and most definitely in the Colby Hotel, we do not end a sentence with a preposition!”

    The Okie thinks about it, nods contritely and says “Okay, where’s the bar at, Asshole?”

    jk

    16 May 2007 at 3:02 pm

  3. That made me laugh out loud. 🙂

    Herself

    16 May 2007 at 6:40 pm


Leave a Reply

