Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Point of etiquette

leave a comment »

I was puttering through Flickr, more or less randomly, marking as a favorite any pic that caught my eye (mostly cute Chinese brats or “typical Shanghai” pics) when somehow or other I came across this lady’s account. I favoritedEgad, I just neologised! And uglily! this photo, and moved on elsewhere.

Now, a couple things. First, Flickr tells you who has marked what; you have to work for anonymity if you want it (which I didn’t, particularly). Second, my account is pretty bare, at that time consisting of my name and a link to this here blog.

The next day, I got an email from Flickr. She invited me to be a contact. I accepted, but otherwise did not reply, as she sent no personal message.

So here’s the on-line etiquette question: ought I to say something? And if so, what? She added me when I had no pics (I’ve since uploaded some two year old shots, just to have something there), and if she followed the link to my blog and read any part of it, she’d see clearly that we’re of rather opposite opinions politicallyBut at least she’s not insane. :). So we likely have nothing to talk about, and I doubt she wants to hear me drool over her (if you haven’t followed the link yet, she’s quite drool-worthy, if you can overlook the “Bush is a murderer” nonsense).

So there’s no apparent reason to thank her, other than her simply taking notice of me. So I said nothing. Rude? I don’t think so.

Oh, and here’s her blog.

Written by [IMH]

3 December 2006 at 11:03 am

Posted in Blogosphere

No Responses Yet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. twiggy, eh?

    🙂

    christine

    3 December 2006 at 1:39 pm

  2. Twiggy?

    Anyhow, glad to see you here. 🙂

    Ian

    3 December 2006 at 4:41 pm


Leave a Reply

