Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Quote of the day

leave a comment »

You live out where the street ends
in a basement apartment with one of your friends
and the tap drips all night, water torture in the sink
The furnace is burning but it’s still cold I think

I can smell the bleach that they use in the hall
but it can’t clean the dirt off of me, it’s seeping under the door
in across the floor it’s starting to hurt

Every time I breathe
Every time I try to leave
Every time I breathe

Now the toaster sticks, and the empties are piled
I haven’t been up the stairs in awhile now
I gotta wash the sheets on my bed
I gotta watch those things that go unsaid
God I wish we’d leave it at this

Every time I breathe
Every time I try to leave
Every time I breathe

And every evening you open the door, you come down
There’s nothing like watching TV all night underground
and no one is watching me slide
below street level barely alive

Now we live out where the street ends
in a basement apartment just like our friends
We always said that we were different
but you know now that we weren’t
’cause there’s holes in all the bottles

— Sarah Harmer, “Basement Apt.”

Written by [IMH]

4 November 2006 at 12:01 am

Posted in Quotes

Leave a Reply

