Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Quote of the day

with 5 comments

Baby,
now that I’ve found you
I won’t let you go
I built my world around you
I need you so,
baby even though
You don’t need me
now

Baby,
now that I’ve found you
I won’t let you go
I built my world around you
I need you so
Baby even though
You don’t need me,
You don’t need me oh, no

Baby, baby,
when first we met
I knew in this heart of mine

That you were someone I couldn’t forget.
I said right,
and abide my time

Spent my life looking
for that somebody
to make me feel like new
Now you tell me that you want to leave me
But darling, I just can’t let you

Alison Kraus Tony Macaulay with John MacLeod (see comments), “Now that I’ve found you”

Written by [IMH]

26 May 2006 at 11:59 pm

Posted in Quotes

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ahhh, I like this 90’s song, too but I never knew who did it.

    Ro

    7 June 2006 at 2:04 am

  2. The thing is, she does the newer, acoustic version. I swear there was a synth-pop version in the late ’80s by a male singer, but can find no reference to it anywhere. Either way, it is definitely a great song.

    Ian

    8 June 2006 at 11:04 am

  3. The song was written by the great Tony Macauly in the late 60s, so it probably was covered by a synth band at some point.

    jon

    9 June 2006 at 1:21 am

  4. The song was written by the great Tony Macauly in the late 60s, so it probably was covered by a synth band at some point.

    jon

    9 June 2006 at 1:21 am

  5. The Foundations, 1967. Indeed written by Tony Macaulay with John MacLeod; the two of them are responsible for “Build Me Up Buttercup” (also the Foundations), “Baby Take Me in Your Arms” (Geoff Turton aka Jefferson), and “Smile a Little Smile for Me” (the Flying Machine).

    I have Alison’s recording, though, and it’s haunting and then some.

    CGHill

    10 June 2006 at 8:00 am


Leave a Reply

