Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Quote of the day

leave a comment »

November 18, 1949

WHAT KIND OF A BLACK PROTESTANT BIBLE IS THIS?

Kindly inform the Church of England they have loused up the most beautiful prose ever written, whoever told them to tinker with the Vulgate Latin? They’ll burn for it, you mark my words.

It’s nothing to me, I’m Jewish myself. But I have a Catholic sister-in-law, a Methodist sister-in-law, a whole raft of Presbyterian cousins (through my great-uncle Abraham who converted), and an aunt who’s a Christian Science healer, and I like to think none of them would countenance this Anglican Latin Bible if they knew it existed. (As it happens, they don’t know Latin existed.)

— Helene Hanff, 84 Charing Cross Road

Written by [IMH]

15 May 2006 at 11:59 pm

Posted in Quotes

Leave a Reply

