Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Ah, maternal instinct!

with 4 comments

I was in a bookstore (big shock, I know) when a little eurasian poppet of about one-and-a-half stomped and chattered merrily past me, unknowingly knocking books off the shelf left and right as she careened along. Her harried mother followed while straightening things up. There were two older children, too, and she had to ride herd on them as well.

I said “She’s adorable!” both because it was totally true and because mom needed some form of encouragement.

“Thanks,” she said with a lovely accent (Dutch, perhaps). “Do you want to keep her?”

“Sure!” I said instantly. The little girl was much more than cute enough for instant adoption.

Mom grinned. “Well… for a day, maybe.”

Alas, no numbers or names were exchanged.

But that was one damn cute little whirlwind of a girl. 😀

Written by [IMH]

3 April 2006 at 12:51 pm

Posted in Life in China

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “But that was one damn cute little whirlwind of a girl. :D”

    Don’t you mean pedophiliac instinct? 😀

    Ro

    3 April 2006 at 7:14 pm

  2. EEeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwww! You are SICK, woman!

    And, given my mandate to protect all children from harm, if that were true I would have to step in front of a bus immediately. So, luckily, just a joke. 🙂

    Ian

    4 April 2006 at 2:26 am

  3. EEeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwww! You are SICK, woman!

    And, given my mandate to protect all children from harm, if that were true I would have to step in front of a bus immediately. So, luckily, just a joke. 🙂

    Ian

    4 April 2006 at 2:26 am

  4. Yeah, I knew you hate that. Heehee.

    Ro

    4 April 2006 at 4:40 pm


Leave a Reply

