Upbeat Cynicism

what do you mean i lost my mind?

Titles

leave a comment »

Raymond Chandler kept a journal filled with possible story and novel titles, and I’ve always liked that idea. Swiping a few from his, I have my own, some of them with stories or ideas attached.

Here’s a few:

  • A Few May Remember
  • Lament, But No Tears
  • Aye, Perdition!
  • The Land of Dreams (taken from a William Blake poem, this was the title of my first [AWFUL] script — a drama, not a fantasy)
  • The Brick Tree (second [AWFUL] script I wrote, circa 1996)
  • Bright Swords (from Othello)
  • Lunkhead
  • Iktapop (if I ever figure out what it means, it might make a good story)
  • Came the Revolution
  • Somebody’s Mistress
  • The Devil May Care
  • The Devil You Say
  • In the Details (my mortal “loony who thinks he’s one of Satan’s minions” trilogy)
  • The Big Quiet
  • The Big Noise
  • A Profit With Honor
  • Second Nature
  • Second Contact
  • Metal Storm (swiped from an anti-US technothriller)
  • Rain of Iron
  • Express Ticket to Hell (possibly my ultimate noir title)
  • How to be Human
  • Random Chance and Happenstance
  • Face to Face
  • And all my dreams asunder
  • Slammers
  • With Dignity (black comedy about the right to die)
  • Just For Fun
  • For Services Rendered
  • For Value Received (should I ever write a softcore Skinemax flick, these last two titles are the top of my list)
  • Free On Board
  • Never Breathe a Word
  • Walk with Kings (Not sure I’ve ever properly Kipled, though)
  • Lord, What Fools
  • Cheek to Jowl
  • Corpus Muerte (my “zombie cowboy” title!)
  • Slumming with Angels
  • Weight of Shadows
  • Fader
  • Under Stranger Suns
  • Bad Man’s Ransom
  • Ark of Death
  • Boiled Blood
  • The Flash-Frozen Corpse
Written by [IMH]

20 December 2005 at 11:54 am

Posted in General

No Responses Yet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How about “Yours, mine, and hours”

    Steven Den Beste

    21 December 2005 at 8:12 am

  2. Not only clever titles, but clever story ideas to go along with them!

    Steven Den Beste

    21 December 2005 at 2:11 pm


Leave a Reply

